Home / Creo Parametric / Setting the Working Directory and Opening and Saving Files

Setting the Working Directory and Opening and Saving Files

The Working Directory is the designated location for opening
and saving files.
• Creo Parametric is started in the
default working directory.
• Different working directories can be
set.
• New working directory locations
are not saved upon exiting Creo
Parametric.

Ins_Lec_EN 1
Figure 2 – Setting the Working Directory
in the Folder Tree
Setting the Working Directory

Ins_Lec_EN 2
Figure 1 – Working Directory
Common Folder
The working directory is the designated location for opening and saving
files. Typically, the default working directory is the directory from which Creo
Parametric is started. However, there are three methods to define a new
working directory:
• From the Folder Tree or Web browser – Right-click the folder that is to be
the new working directory and select Set Working Directory.
• From the File menu – Click File > Manage Session > Select Working
Directory. Browse to and select the directory that is to be the new working
directory. Click OK.
• From the File Open dialog box – Right-click the folder that is to be the new
working directory and select Set Working Directory.
You can navigate directly to the working directory at any time by
selecting the Working Directory common folder from the Navigator.
The new working directory setting is not saved upon exiting Creo
Parametric.
Opening Files
You can use any of the following methods to open a file:
© 2012 PTC Module 3 | Page 9
For PTC Internal Use Only
• Browse to the desired folder using the Navigator (either with Common
Folders or through the Folder Tree) to display its contents in the Web
browser. Then, you can either double-click the file in the file list, or
right-click the file in the file list and select Open.
• You can also drag the file from the file list into the graphics window.
• Click File > Open or click Open
from the Quick Access toolbar and
the File Open dialog box appears. Browse to the file, select it, and either
double-click it or click Open.
The File Open dialog box is the equivalent of the Navigator and
Browser combination in the main interface.
Saving Files
You can use any of the following methods to save a file:
• Click File > Save.
• Click Save
from the Quick Access toolbar. By default, a file is saved to
the current working directory. However, if a file is retrieved from a directory
other than the working directory and then saved, the file saves to the
directory from which it was retrieved.
Saving a Copy of Files
You can also save a copy of an existing file by clicking File > Save As > Save
a Copy. Saving a copy enables you to create an exact copy of a file, but
with a different name. When saving a copy of an assembly, you must also
decide how to manage its dependent components. You can save a copy of
the dependent components by renaming them with a suffix or specifying new
names for all of them, or you can decide not to save them at all

Incoming search terms:

  • creo working directory vs workspace

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *