Home / Mastercam Help / Guidelines for working in Toolpath Manager mastercam

Guidelines for working in Toolpath Manager mastercam

The following are guidelines for working in Toolpath Manager:

  • Similar to Windows Explorer, the Toolpath Manager list (shown below) is expandable and contractible by clicking the plus and minus symbols. You can also double click a group, subgroup, or folder to expand and contract it.mng mactercam 1
  • Move your mouse over the Toolpath Manager to make it active. When you move your mouse back over the graphics window, then that becomes active and Toolpath Manager is inactive.
  • Machine groups house toolpath groups, which house subgroups and/or operations. A toolpath cannot be created directly under a machine group without a toolpath group.
  • When you create a toolpath, the operation is located in the position of the insert arrow. If the insert arrow is not positioned under a toolpath group, Mastercam will create a toolpath group for that operation. That toolpath group will be located in the last position in the machine group housing the Insert Arrow (shown below).
    .mng mactercam 2
  • Single click the text or icon of an operation to select it. The icon of the selected operation appears with a green checkmark as shown below:mng mactercam 3
  • Single click the text or icon of a machine group to select all subgroups and operations within that group.
  • Single click the text or icon of a subgroup to select all items in that subgroup.
  • Hold down the [Ctrl] key and click the text or icon of operations or subgroups to select multiple items.
  • To deselect an item, hold down the [Ctrl] key and reselect that item or click a different item. If you do not want any items selected, click the insert arrow.
  • Drag and drop the Insert Arrow to relocate the positioning of a new item. You can also highlight the Insert Arrow and use the up and down arrows keys on your keyboard to do this.
  • Move groups and operations within the list by dragging and dropping. Subgroups can also be moved into positions of parent groups. When you drop a group into a new position, a pop-up menu (shown below) appears and you will need to further define the new position or cancel the move.
    mng mactercam 4
    For more information, please see Moving and copying items in Toolpath Manager.
  • Copy and paste groups and operations into other groups by selecting the item you want to copy, choose Copy from the right-click menu, select the group in which you want to place the copy, and choose Paste in the right-click menu. You can then reposition the copy by dragging and dropping the item. You can also use the Toolpath Manager shortcut keys.
  • G-view, C-plane, T-plane, and WCS are saved with each Machine group in the Toolpath manager. This information is saved in each group on a per session basis only and not saved with the MCX file. When you switch between Machine Groups in Toolpath Manager by moving the insert arrow, the last view used in that Machine Group will be restored.
  • You can delete a group by selecting it and pressing the [Delete] key or choosing Delete from the right-click menu.
    Note:
    Machine Groups cannot be deleted if they are active. Only the operations in them will be deleted. To delete an active Machine Group, move the Insert Arrow to another Machine Group and then delete the group.
  • Deleted operations are recallable by using the Undelete command from the right-click menu. Note: You can only undelete an operation in Toolpath Manager immediately after deletion, before executing another command.
  • Permanently delete all machine groups and associated toolpaths from the Toolpath Manager by choosing Machine Type, Design, and then clicking the Delete all operations, groups and tools button (as shown below).

    Notes:
    This does not clear geometry, only machine and toolpath data.
    You cannot undo this deletion.
  • To activate an existing machine group when you are in Design, right-click the Machine Group in Toolpath Manager and choose “Make machine group active.”
  • To quickly and easily add a comment to an operation, single click it, then click it again as if to rename it. When the text disappears, type in your comment and either click somewhere else or press [Enter]. The comment appears at the end of the operation text as well as in the Comments field in the Toolpath Parameters tab for that operation.
    Caution:
    The text you enter in this manner overwrites any comment text you have already entered for that operation.
  • To hide most of the text that appears next to the list icons, use the Display command on the right-click menu.
  • While you are working in the Toolpath Manager, you can customize the display of background colors, line colors, and font styles and colors. Click here for additional information.
  • You can dock, undock, re-size, and close the Operations Manager. Click here for more details.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *